Reef Fish Complex

There are 31 species of reef fish federally managed by the Fishery Management Plan for Reef Fish Resources of the Gulf of Mexico. Found on both artificial and natural structures in the Gulf of Mexico and South Atlantic, these fishes hold high importance in recreational and commercial fisheries.

Snappers 11 species

This species complex includes queen snapper, mutton snapper, blackfin snapper, red snapper, cubera snapper, gray snapper, lane snapper, silk snapper, yellowtail snapper, vermillion snapper, and wenchman. 

Jacks 4 species

This species complex includes greater amberjack, lesser amberjack, almaco jack, and banded rudderfish.

Tilefishes 3 species

This species complex includes tilefish (golden tilefish), blueline tilefish, and goldface tilefish.

Groupers 11 species

This species complex includes gag, red grouper, scamp, black grouper, yellowedge grouper, snowy grouper, speckled hind, yellowmouth grouper, yellowfin grouper, warsaw grouper, and Atlantic goliath grouper. 

Hogfish 1 species

The hogfish (Lachnolaimus maximus) is the only federally-managed hogfish species in the Southeast.

Triggerfish 1 species

The gray triggerfish (Balistes capriscus) is the only federally-managed triggerfish species in the Southeast.

Share this:

Like this:

Like Loading...
%d bloggers like this: